Understanding Key Landlord-Tenant Laws in Nevada

Important Landlord-Tenant Laws In Nevada

Laws in Nevada set out particular responsibilities for both landlords and tenants. Understanding these laws will help both parties navigate their situation without having to hire a lawyer. This basic overview of relevant landlord-tenant issues in Nevada will get you started.

Mandatory Landlord Disclosures

It is essential under Nevada law for landlords to disclose specific information to tenants. The lease or rental agreement should mention the purpose of any nonrefundable fee and the circumstances under which the landlord may use the security deposit.

Security Deposit Limit and Return

According to Nevada state law, there are timelines as well as financial restrictions on the security deposit charged and the duration of its return. A landlord can charge for a security deposit worth three months’ rent and return it within 30 days after a renter moves out of the property.

Late Fees and Other Rent Rules

There are several rent-related issues regulated by State law, including late and bounced-check fees. Landlords in Nevada have to give at least 45 days notice to tenants before raising the rent. On the other hand, a tenant in Nevada gets a notice period of five days to pay overdue rent or move out before a landlord can file for eviction. Once evicted, a landlord in Las Vegas can sell the property fast for cash. At southernnevadahomebuyers, we buy houses in Las Vegas.

Tenant Rights to Withhold Rent

Tenants may want to exercise the right to withhold rent towards “repair and deduct” in case the landlord fails to take care of urgent repairs, such as a broken heaters or damaged appliances. Tenants can also sue landlords in small claims courts for the return of their deposit, up to a dollar amount of $7,000.

Termination and Eviction Rules

Nevada State laws specify when and how a landlord may terminate a tenancy. If a tenant has caused extensive damage to the property, the landlord can send an unconditional quit notice that gives the tenant three days to move out before the landlord can file for eviction.

If you are tired of renting your property to bad tenants and want to sell your home ASAP, call southernnevadhomebuyers.com, a well-known cash home buyer in Nevada.

Get More Info On Options To Sell Your Home...

Selling a property in today's market can be confusing. Connect with us or submit your info below and we'll help guide you through your options.

What Do You Have To Lose? Get Started Now...

We buy houses in ANY CONDITION in NV. There are no commissions or fees and no obligation whatsoever. Start below by giving us a bit of information about your property or call 702-602-6733...
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *